PDA

View Full Version : Question about coincidence and placebo

starvulture
11-21-2007, 06:12 PM
Hello, I just recieved my SOE today and am looking forward to trying it.

I was thinking though,

in the past 2 days I have worn no pheromones, and have never worn them, as I am a newbie, however,

1. A

woman who normally is rather grumpy had a cheerful conversation with me in an elevator.

2. A woman started a

conversation with me in a hall and wanted to keep talking to me.

I've never worn pheromones! It made me

think, now if I had gotten these pheromones 2 days earlier, I would have attributed both these things to the

pheromones - it wasn't even exactly the placebo effect because my behavior didn't change at all - it was just

sheer coincidence!

So I wonder, how do I distinguish sheer coincidence from actual effects of the pheromones?

How can I be objective about it?

What I am hoping is that either the overall reactions will improve, such

as over weeks, or the reactions will be much stronger intensity so that I can distinguish. But how can I be

objective about it, I mean is there really any way to distinguish sheer coincidence with results?

Gegogi
11-22-2007, 01:38 AM
Short of a long battery of

controlled double blind tests, you can't. All you can do is, after a reasonable amount of trials, start to notice

nothing is different or something is different. The thing is, with mones, you are still essentially you. People

still respond to your clues. Mones do nothing but amplify your words and actions a notch. If you're friendly, it

makes you seem a little more friendly than normal. If you're depressed and down, you poor mood is even more

apparent. So you with mones on is the same as you without mones, just slightly enhanced. No fire and brimstone or

blaring trumpets. Enhancement is normally subtle except for a few rare "incidents."

gfunk
11-22-2007, 11:28 AM
And to add from my own