PDA

View Full Version : Cheap?? Ethanol? Glycol? for fragrance Dilution

Sesshoumaru
07-21-2004, 08:59 PM
Any sources? I need 10 gallons to dilute 5000mg hydrocloride form of mystery chemical.

That would

produce a concentration about the same as primal ect..
(10 Gallon = Around 9990ml Ethanol, add 5000mg of the

hydrocloride mystery chemical would result in a product with 15.015mg (hydrocloride mystery chemical) per 30 ml,

which is around .5mg per ml).

I know for a fact that chemicals that are in their hydrocloride (powder) form

disolve very poorly in water (you'll see a whole bunch of floating chemical clumps).

99.99% Ethanol would

dissolve it completely, 10 gallons would cost alot of $$$ (or am I getting ripped of lol).

There is also

di-propylene glycol but I have no experience with that. Any cheap sources of Ethanol? Any other chemical

suggestions? How about Methanol (though it's highly toxic if accidentaly ingested).

DrSmellThis
07-21-2004, 09:21 PM
You probably need some kind of

credential to buy pure organic ethanol in large quantities most places. I've been asked to prove I'm a "doctor."

Denatured ethanol, which is available from perfume and cosmetic supply industries, should be easier to get.

Sesshoumaru
07-22-2004, 07:50 AM
Hey I just thought of a good

idea. I should dissolve the hydrocloride chemical in a small portion of Ethanol, let it sit for a few days in a

closed container while shaking it profusely for a few minutes every hour (until completly dissolved) then replace

the missing Ethanol with Distilled Water.

That probably will work...

Oh yea, I have another question....Do

Essential Oils dissolve completely in ethanol?

einstein
07-22-2004, 02:11 PM
Just curious, why do you need to

dilute 5g of mystery chemical?

I second the doctor's recommendations. You shouldn't need and probably

can't get absolute ethanol. Denatured alcohol is cheap and available at hardware stores in large quantities. So